Subdivision for the village of ‘Makgill’ in 1838 included land for a chapel and cemetery. Early European settlers, contributors to developing the district, were buried in Magill Wesleyan Cemetery, including Charles Bennett founder of Bennett’s Pottery, Joseph Crompton wine and olive oil maker and the Black family. Mary Cock and her son donated land for Magill Wesleyan Church and trustees (1878) – with change of title (1944) and trustees’ revision (1958). In 1974 the cemetery was transferred to the Corporation of the City of Burnside. Join our guided tour to discover the stories behind the headstones. Bookings required by phone or email.
Presented by Burnside Historical Society